Whoop / Oura ring / Apple Health

Hello

Looking for user experience (or advice) on whether a tracker, such as Whoop / Oura ring / Apple Health, will actually help my cycling performance, how you use the data, and anything useful.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

I’ve been using an Oura ring for almost four years now and I find the data useful. I don’t completely rely on it or take it too seriously, but it does allow me to see how my various metrics and sleep patterns are trending and lets me know if I’m on the right track in recovering or being well prepared for workouts. I think the key is to use something like that consistently because it becomes “smarter” the longer you use it because it learns your behaviors. I don’t necessarily let the metrics dictate my training because I know sometimes I’m going to go into harder/longer workouts in a fatigued state. It can definitely let you know if something is off and if you combine that with how you’re feeling you can take that into account and take an easy day if you need to.

1 Like

Hi James, my wife bought me an Apple watch fo my birthday a couple of years ago. I didn’t think that I would use any of the features but have been surprised. I have learneda lot about my sleep and what impacts it. Also what impacts my sleep has on the rest of my life. I use the obvious time in bed and time asleep, nut also number of times getting up, respiratory rate during sleep and HR during sleep. I also get the HRV data automatically, although I have found this one less telling of my state of training and fitness than some other people do. I also have a Withings body composition scale to keep me honest on weight which is a constant problem for me. The Withings app captures lots of the same data as apple health. The main issue that I have with all of these is that only a fraction of the data links to Training Peaks automatically. So sharing data with Pav doesn’t work without a lot of faffing about.

1 Like