New turbo trainer

Looking for some advice on a new turbo. What is everyone’s preference?

make sure you buy one with sufficient top end capacity. I have a wahoo kickr core which is awesome except whenever I sprint I push through the brake which has caused a number of incidents. I would suggest take your max 5 second power and add 25%.

2 Likes

I have been using the Tacx Neo 2T for a few years now and it’s great. Apparently the newest version with built in rocker is even better, but I have found no reason to upgrade. Between my wife and I we have over 30,000 km on it with no issues. I have done the recommended maintenance which takes about 10 minute and just involves regreasing the hub axle assembly. It is quiet, has more than enough resistance for a pro, and has a downhill feature which I believe is unique to the Tacx Neo. Whn descending in Zwift (for example) the trainer actually drives forward simulating coasting…not just removing resistance. In a steep descent, it’s not really relevent, but at -2% for example, it gives the trainer a much more realistic road feel. It also can function without being plugged in (although there are a couple of features that are disabled when not plugged in). The only real disadvantage to the Neo is that it is quite awkward to set up and move. The newest version is much better…it has a handle.
I have tried the Wahoo Kickr V6 and it is also an excellent trainer, and does have the advantage of the add on toys like the Kickr Climb and Headwind, and Wifi rather than just Bluetooth and ANT+. but again the Tacx has better road feel. You may be able to find the V5 on sale with the only difference from the V6 is that the V5 does not have Wifi.
There are other excellent trainers out there but these are the big 2 for a reason.

1 Like