Europe: Nice, Stuttgart, and Munich

Hey all! I’m planning a vacation to Europe in early November, and I’m wondering if anybody has experiences or tips? I’m a relative newbie so nothing epic, and I can’t bikepack (family).

A few things I’d like to know about: can’t-miss rides (Col de la Madone!), gear to take (pedals, shoes, kit obviously), logistics of transporting or renting a bike, safety, weather, and anything else!

I’m spending 4 days in Nice, France; 5 days in Stuttgart, Germany; and 2 days in Munich.

2 Likes

@Kicikacsa lives in Germany, he might be able to help with this! @miffedoldpizza has just gone through all of the challenges of transporting a bike and deals with fluctuating weather too!!

1 Like

Couple of notes. I flew from Denver into Munich, via rental car to Italy.

Bought a bike box (aehm, “SCICON AEROTECH EVOLUTION X TSA BIKE CASE”, probikekit.com … there is some money to be saved). I do own a bike bag as well (right, the Scicon AcroComfort whatever). Turns out that some airlines only keep their promised insurance if the bike is in a hardshell.

Gear to take. I got a light weight travel pump (“LEZYNE CNC TRAVEL FLOOR DRIVE”), a leight weight torque wrench (“PRO BIKE TOOL Adjustable T Torque Wrench”), a set of allen keys (staddle, stem, pedals, deraileur), and a flathead/phillips screw driver. As spare only the deraileur hanger (which is impossible to find at a random bike store). For a bike box you have to deflate the tires, take off the pedals and seat, and losen up the handlebar. So there is a minimum set of tools required. Tricky part is to keep the bike box at or under 50lbs (or 23kg), hence the “light weight” above. Of course tubes, spare tires, carbon paste, lubricant, chain wax. Theme for me is to not depend on a bike shop to do the basic things.