C5 / C6 spine issues - common for cyclists?

Recently went to a spine doc due to neck pain. MRI indicates that I have issues with C5/C6 discs, which he says is common in cyclists. (Can cause neck pain, shoulder pain, and tingling in thumb and index finger – check, check, and check!) The joys of getting old!

Would be interested to hear if anyone else has struggled with this, and if so what they have done to mitigate/eliminate pain?

Btw, I have had a professional bike fit on all of my bikes so have a relatively good position on the bike. Not saying it couldn’t be improved, but not thinking that position is the major driver (though could be wrong)

3 Likes

I’m a physical therapist and can confirm that issues with the C5/C6 discs are fairly common in general. Even though you’ve had your bikes professionally fit, that’s one of the first things I would check out, especially if your pain seems to be worsened by riding. You may want to look for a fitter who can perform a medical fit or cycling analysis, possibly a physical therapist or a fitter who works alongside a PT. I had this done myself about a year and a half ago because my knees were completely thrashed and it was a game changer. The process took an entire day, plus a couple of follow-up sessions, but I could feel the difference immediately and was pain-free within six months. You will likely also benefit from a corrective program to address postural imbalances - usually a combination of strengthening the weakened deep neck flexors, mid/lower traps, and other scapular stabilizing muscles, stretching the muscles that are tight (usually pec major/minor, lats, possibly scalenes, upper trap, and levator scapula), and possibly working on thoracic mobility as well. A medical cycling analysis may provide a good corrective program, or a good PT. If nothing else, there are lots of YouTube videos with some good exercises (I highly recommend Prehab Guys if you go that route).